Azaadi 70-Independence 70 Week from 9th August 2016-23rd August 2016- Organized Essay Writing, Quiz and Declamation Competition Based on Yaad Karo Qurbani Theme- 16th August 2017

An Essay Writing, Quiz and Declamation  Competition was organized by Literary Society” Word Visharad” of College to earmark the importance of the Azaadi 70-Independence 70 week  from 9th August 2016-23rd August 2016 based on the theme “Yaad Karo Qurbaani” to help students learn about the sacrifices in the freedom struggle. Near about 21 students participated in Quiz Competition. A preliminary round was conducted where from 12 students were selected and formed in group of two each consisting of six teams.The rounds consisted of questions based on history and polity of India and the last round  was based on visual media. In Essay Writing near about ten students participated and in Declamation two students participated. The students enjoyed the whole process and felt enriched and enlightened to learn about the freedom struggle through these events.Dean Prof(Dr) Rosy Walia in the end in her address concluded that its important for students to realize the importance of the freedom and she shared her feelings on the occasion stating that although this generation belongs to Generation Z yet she felt happy sharing that students are conscious and sensitive towards political issues and civil disturbances and expressed her concern that we as citizens of India most importantly Youth needs to be more focused and responsible in contributing their bit to help the country grow in the coming years. The  Best entries were chosen and the name of the same are given below as follows:

S.No Name Class Roll No Event/ Position
1. Malbinder Kaur             B.Com II                        94

Harrey                             B.Com II                       175

Quiz- First


3. Divya Verma


B.Com II                       120

B.Com I                        155

Quiz- Second
5. Japneet Kaur B.Com I 169 Declamation (Best Entry)
6. Nitin Kumar Sharma B.Com III 73 Declamation (Best Entry)
7. Divya Kalra BBA III 302 Essay Writing (Best Entry)
8. Manisha Mittal B.Com I 168 Essay Writing (Best Entry)